Friday, April 28, 2017
Syndicate content

2012 Iron County Convention results

We want to thank everyone who came and participated today in the county convention. It was a phoneminal turnout and we had so many concerned citizens/delegates attend on easter weekend to make their voices heard! We want to thank all those candidates for running and congralutions to the below candidates for advancing to a primary! The primary will be held on June 26th and will determine the Republican Nominee of the races below,

State House Representative 72 - 155 votes cast (in the 3rd round, there were 210 county delegates to begin with)
Matthew Carling received 74 votes with 48% of the vote
John Westwood received 81 votes with 52% of the vote

County Commission - 2nd round- 205 votes cast
David Miller received 120 votes with 58.5% of the vote
Alma Adams received 85 votes with 41.5% of the vote

2012 Candidate filings

We are State Senate: 28, State House District: 72, U.S. Congressional District: 2, except parts of Enoch, Parowan, etc. are State House District: 71. At county convention the following will be voted on: County Commissoner, House Seat 72, and an unfilled State delegate seat.

Candidates that are still in the race are in bold.

We encourage your submissions!

We, the Executive Committee of the Iron County Republican Party, do our best to keep this site up to date with all the local political events. However, we know that there are many more events that do not get posted either because we are not aware of them or we don't get a chance to post. We encourage anyone reading this post to help us by posting relevant local political events to keep us all informed and aware of what is going on in the community.

Events can be posted by going to:

All submissions will be reviewed before being posted to the website to ensure no inappropriate content is posted.

We appriciate your support!

Take Action


Chair's Message

The coming year promises to be one of great interest, challenges, healthy debate, entertaining and informative conventions and real politics. Please let us, the Executive Committee, know of your interest in meeting our goal of advocating and protecting our Utah Caucus system and interest and participation in that process. We will have several events to put on and will need lots of help. Let us know if you want to volunteer. We look forward to the coming year.